Why can't I update my published memberships?

Article author
Josh Lopez

It's not possible to update the price, billing frequency, etc on a published membership. However, there is a workaround for updating a plan.

 

This workaround is useful if you:

  • published a membership by mistake and need to make updates to the price, billing interval, etc.

  • updated your pricing.

  • want to manually change a member's membership.

 

Step 1 - Archive the old membership plan & remove any signup links from your site.

Archive_Membership_Toggle.png

 

Step 2 - Create a new membership & add the new signup links to your site.

membership_signup_link.gif

At this point, you've effectively "updated" the membership. However, archiving a membership isn't going to affect members who already signed up. To update their memberships we recommend the following:

 

Step 3 - Issue credit in Stripe equal to the new membership price and ask your members to "upgrade" to the new plan. You'll need to explain that you updated their balance so that they will not be charged. Here is an article on how to issue a credit in Stripe: https://stripe.com/docs/billing/customer/balance.

Was this article helpful?

Comments

1 comment

  • Comment author
    takumi kai
    Can't understand this point.
    "At this point, you've effectively "updated" the membership."

    - I think customer  should change their plan own their hand.
    - So this mean "NOT UPDATED" I think (customer should do , not automatically)
    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.