When enabled, Memberstack automatically charges a prorated amount when upgrading to a recurring membership (if you signed up before November 24th, 2020, this feature will be enabled by default).
You can find the "Enable prorations" toggle on the Site settings page.
What does prorating do?
When a member changes their membership before the current period ends, they have a positive outstanding balance. In other words, they paid for unused time, and that unused time will carry over as a price discount.
For example: If a member joins a $100/mo plan → waits for 15 days (they used $50) → and upgrades to a $200/mo plan they will receive an invoice for $150, which is the new $200 plan minus the remaining $50 balance from their first purchase.
Note: The prorated amount is not reflected in the checkout UI (yet). This is something we want to improve ASAP. At the moment, members will think they are paying full price, but will actually receive an invoice for a lesser amount.
The checkout total is not pro-rated when changing to or from a one-time membership.
✅ Recurring → Recurring
❌ Recurring → One-time
❌ One-time → Recurring
Keywords: Prorated, pro-rate, prorate, prorating